201 National Merit Scholarship Program

Fri, 10/14/2016 - 5:19pm

In September the officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists and 34,000 Commended Students nationwide who have shown exceptional academic promise.   Their high Selection Index score places them among the top five percent of over 1.6 million juniors in 22,000 high schools who entered the 2017 National Merit Program by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). 

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization, was established in 195.  Approximately 420 business organizations and higher education institutions also contribute to NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and to encourage their pursuit of academic excellence.

A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record, write an essay, earn SAT scores that confirm PSAT performance, and receive school endorsement.  From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level; in February they will be notified of this designation.  All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from the Finalist group.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the Spring of 2017:

  • National Merit $2500 Scholarships
  • Merit Scholarships sponsored by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations
  • Merit Scholarships sponsored by colleges and universities

On October 17, 2016, the MRHS Administration and Counselors will celebrate with the 4 Semifinalists and the 29 Commended Students.   Schools and families play a key role in their academic development and these students exemplify the HCPSS promise of preparation.  At MRHS, we are committed to supporting our students’ educational opportunities and will continue to encourage them as they pursue their college and career goals. 


  • Elise Ahn
  • Samuel Lam
  • Yixuan Liu
  • Samuel Shen

Commended Students:

  • Sophia Bi
  • Yuqi Cao
  • Brooke Conley
  • Quincy Crawford
  • Shelby Desmond
  • Jeremy Folsom
  • Nishitha Hosamane
  • Elissa Huang
  • Andrew Lauer
  • Benjamin Lee
  • Stephanie Lewis
  • Thomas Malloy
  • Julia Mann
  • Charles Menton
  • Luke Misumi
  • Evin Moody
  • Jonathan Nam
  • Yaw Owusu-Boaitey
  • makarand Parigi
  • Nirmal Patel
  • David Polefrone
  • Lauren Prinn
  • Kushagr Tiwary
  • Vinay Veluvolu
  • Wendy You
  • Rachel Yu
  • Christine Yuan
  • Mathew Zheng